Antony Partos takes prestigious double win at 2016 Screen Music Awards

Two more wins: Antony Partos. Photo: Daniel Munoz Award-winning soundtrack … Andrew Garfield and Michael Shannon in Ramin Bahrani’s film 99 Homes. Photo: Supplied

Award winner: Jennifer Peedom’s documentary Sherpa.

With his scores for an American film about the housing crisis and an Australian documentary about a disaster on Mount Everest, composer Antony Partos has claimed a double at Screen Music Awards.

With Matteo Zingales​, Partos won feature film score of the year for 99 Homes and also won best soundtrack album for Sherpa.

He has now won 11 Screen Music Awards in a career that has included composing for such TV programs as Rake, Mabo, Redfern Now, The Slap, Love Child and Deep Water and such films as Animal Kingdom, The Homesong Stories, The Rover and Tanna.

But Partos was pipped in the two other categories he was nominated for at the awards, run by the publishing and songwriting peak body Australasian Performing Right Association and the Australian Guild of Screen Composers, in Sydney.

Roger Mason won best music for a television series or serial for The Principal and Caitlin Yeo won best music for a documentary for Getting Frank Gehry.

The awards were also a triumph for Neil Sutherland, whose work includes Mythbusters, Dancing With The Stars, Border Security and RBT. He was named most performed screen composer overseas for the ninth consecutive year – his 11th Screen Music award.

Most performed screen composer in Australia was Jay Stewart, whose music has featured in the likes of Project Runway, The Block, My Kitchen Rules, Dinner Date and Excess Baggage.

Alan John won best music for a mini-series or telemovie for the ABC mini-series The Beautiful Lie.

Best television theme went to Peter Cavallo​ for the Lebanese series Nos Youm, while Sally and Darren Seltmann​ won best original song composed for the screen for Dancing in the Darkness for the ABC comedy The Letdown.

Best music for children’s television went to Michael Darren, Luke Jurevicius and Christopher Larkin for The New Adventures of Figaro Pho: Odd Socks, with Adam Moses winning best music for a short film for Banana Boy and Jeremy Yang collecting best music for an advertisement for 2016 AICP Opening.


Comments are closed.

Recent Posts

Recent Comments